user passwords

<
Password cracking seems like a difficult task but these techniques make it as simple. We’ll show you some software which cracks windows, mac, and linux user account passwords in a just a few minutes. The programs basically do all the hard work for you as noted in this tutorial.

Breaking into a computer is an illegal activity but it does help to know how to re-access your own equipment. So, this post is for informational and ethical purposes only! This how-to covers three OS we use and the methods to crack the log-in passwords.

Windows

For Windows OS, Ophcrack is the tool of choice. It is a free Windows Password cracker based on Rainbow Tables. It has a GUI which makes it easier to run. The software can decipher passwords up to 14 characters in length in a quick 10 seconds.

To use Ophcrack one needs to download the Ophcrack ISO and burn it to a CD (or load it via a USB drive). Run the CD by loading it in the tray and restarting the computer with the power switch. Switch to the BIOS options and set the computer to boot from the CD Drive. The computer boots up and reads the Ophcrack CD which then proceeds to break the password. Use this password to log into the machine.

Ophcrack is a multi-platform software and so can be used for Mac and Linux too.

Mac OS X

Apart from Ophcrack, another simple method involves using the Mac OS X installation CD (for v10.4). Insert and reboot to display UTILITIES. Choose RESET PASSWORD to get a new one. Login using this password. To reset the password in Mac OS X 10.5, reboot the computer and press COMMAND + S.

At the prompt type in:

sck -fy
mount -uw /
launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist

dscl . -passwd /Users/UserName newpassword

Login with the new reset password.

Linux

Power on the computer, press the ESC key and on the boot loader (GRUB) screen select the ‘Recovery Mode’. Press the ‘B’ Key to enter the single user mode. At the default prompt, type in ‘passwd’ and key in your new password. For access to a single account on the system type ‘passwd username’ replacing ‘username’ with the login name for the account you would reset the password for.

A lesson in cracking is also a lesson in security. Joe Tech’s article advocates the use of encryption (Blowfish or AES-128) as a failsafe against password breach.

12 Responses to “user passwords”

  1. Reba Pratka Says:

    Appreciate it for writing your very good articles and reviews on-line with me.

  2. Johan Rukmana Says:

    As a Newbie, I am always searching online for tips that can help me. Thank you

  3. Promotional Discount Codes Says:

    When I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with
    the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me
    from that service? Appreciate it!

  4. Janella Astorino Says:

    Howdy, I have considered getting the software package DubTurbo Beatmaker and was hoping anyone could give me an actual genuine overview of the software program. Most of the sites that supply product evaluations are really internet marketers selling the software program therefore i don’t believe that the comments are reliable. I am grateful in advance for virtually any information someone can offer.

  5. Bernard Uglum Says:

    I would like to express appreciation to you just for rescuing me from such a circumstance. As a result of browsing through the search engines and finding things which were not beneficial, I assumed my entire life was done. Being alive without the presence of approaches to the problems you have solved by means of this blog post is a crucial case, as well as the kind that would have adversely affected my entire career if I had not encountered your web page. Your expertise and kindness in dealing with all the stuff was invaluable. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a thing like this. I can at this point relish my future. Thanks so much for the impressive and results-oriented help. I won’t hesitate to propose your site to anybody who requires guide about this issue.

  6. Daphne Sianez Says:

    Whats up! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you could have here on this post. I shall be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  7. Kotły gazowe serwis Says:

    magnificent points altogether, you simply received a emblem new reader.
    What would you suggest in regards to your publish that you just made a
    few days in the past? Any sure?

  8. mnchner Says:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your
    web site in my social networks!

  9. zdrowe tabletki odchudzanie Says:

    Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble
    with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up
    losing months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  10. proxykat Says:

    After looking over a number of the blog posts on your
    website, I truly like your technique of blogging.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be
    checking back in the near future. Please visit my
    web site as well and let me know your opinion.

  11. http://www.anonsekobiet.org.pl/ Says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of
    hard work due to no backup. Do you have any
    solutions to stop hackers?

  12. the secret Says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    a few months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to protect
    against hackers?


Leave a Reply

